Fairbreak Invitational Women’s T20 2022 | Tornadoes crowned as inaugural champions

Tejas Rathi

Tejas Rathi

Author| May 16, 7:33 AM

PC: Twitter/@NatSportUAE
PC: Twitter/@NatSportUAE

The Finals of the Fairbreak Invitational Women’s T20 2022 witnessed Tornadoes up against the challenge of Falcons on May 15 (Sunday). 


After winning the toss, Tornadoes chose to field first. The opening spell of Chanida Sutthiruang provided breakthroughs for in-form experienced players like Danielle Wyatt (11) and Chamari Atapattu(9). Then Theertha Satish(19) and Suzie Bates (11) tried to recover the team from early wickets but were dismissed due to run-out dismissals. 


After that, the likes of Mariko Hill and Marizanne Kapp played cautiously in the first few overs, but the latter pounced on every lousy delivery and accelerated in an exemplary fashion to provide a flourish for the team. 


The team scored 151, with an unbeaten 91 run-stand between both the batters. Hill scored 30*off 34 balls, while Kapp smashed 66* off 37 balls, with six fours and two sixes. 


In reply, Tornadoes were off to a great start with openers Sophie Devine and Sterre Kalis displaying their class and continuing their good form in the tournament. 


In the 10th over of the innings, Devine holed out to Bates off Sornnarin Tippoch for a well-made 51 off 35 balls, with four fours and three sixes. After this dismissal, Stafanie Taylor arrived at the crease and stitched a 50-run stand with the Kalis before the latter was dismissed by Kapp for 44 off 41 balls in the 17th over. 


With 22 needed from 18 balls, the duo of Taylor (34*) and Sune Luus (18*) were impressive to register a title victory for the Tornadoes in the inaugural season of Fairbreak Invitational Women’s T20. 


The leading run-scorer in the tournament was Chamari Atapattu, with 313 runs in 7 appearances. On the other hand, Sophie Ecclestone was the most successful bowler with 17 wickets in 7 matches. 


Brief Scores: 


Tornadoes- 152/2 (19.1)

Sophie Devine 51 (35), Mariko Hill 44 (41);

Sornnarin Tippoch 1/30


Falcons - 151/4 (20)

Marizanne Kapp 66* (36), Mariko Hill 30 (34);

Chanida Sutthiruang 2/19


Tornadoes won by eight wickets

Share News On

Read Next

More News