BAN vs SL | 2nd Test | Match Preview, Prediction, Probable XI, CREX XI

Kaushik Kashyap

Kaushik Kashyap

Author| May 22, 3:11 PM

PC: Twitter/OfficialSLC
PC: Twitter/OfficialSLC

Bangladesh will take on Sri Lanka in the second Test match of the two-match series on Monday (May 23) at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.


The first Test match between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in Chattogram ended in a draw. Batters from both sides enjoyed their outing on a flat Chattogram pitch, resulting in a draw. 


Neither team had that kind of bowling attack that would have made any difference on such a wicket. And now, both the sides will want to give their everything to get a win in the second Test and seal the series on a happier note.


Coming to the synopsis of the last game, Sri Lanka posted a total of 397 in the first innings, with Angelo Mathews scoring a brilliant 199 but missing a Test double for a single run. 


Bangladesh, in reply, scored 465, taking a lead of 68 runs with the help of two centurions, Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim. But could not bring out a result from the Test match, which they dominated for the most part. 


However, Sri Lanka are unlikely to play Vishwa Fernando and should be looking to replace him with Praveen Jayawickrama. In addition, the visitors will be hoping Oshada Fernando and Dhananjaya de Silva to be back among runs. 


On the other side, Bangladesh lost Nayeem Hasan to a finger injury and Shoriful Islam to a fractured hand during the first Test. Although their batters contributed massively in the first match, they will hope to see their bowlers do the finishing job and seal the series in Mirpur.


Mirpur rarely fails to bring out results in Tests, as it has been a happy place for spinners of late. With both Bangladesh and Sri Lanka having quality spin options, we can see a result from this Test match. 


Match Details


Match: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka, 2nd Test

Date: 23 May 2022

Time: 09:30 AM IST

Venue: Shere Bangla National Stadium, Mirpur

Live Streaming: Fancode


Pitch Report: The Shere Bangla National Stadium pitch in Mirpur is perfect for batting in the first two days, with spinners enjoying the rest of the three days in most Test matches. The average first inning score in the last test matches is more than 400. The team winning the toss should bat first, as it will be challenging to bat as the game progresses.



Matches played: 23

Bangladesh Won: 1

Sri Lanka Won: 17

Draw: 5

Injury Update/Players' Availability

Nayeem Hasan was ruled out of the series due to a finger injury. Shoriful Islam also suffered a hand fracture and was ruled out of the series. 

Vishwa Fernando could not continue in the last Test match and is unlikely to play in the second Test match as well.


Bangladesh: Mominul Haque (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Shakib Al Hasan, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Ebadot Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Shohidul Islam, Rejaur Rahman Raj

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (C), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Ramesh Mendis, Lasith Embuldeniya, Vishwa Fernando, Asitha Fernando, Praveen Jayawickrama, Kasun Rajitha, Kamindu Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Kamil Mishara, Dilshan Madushanka, Suminda Lakshan

Probable Playing XI

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque (c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Das (wk), Shakib Al Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain

Sri Lanka: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Oshada Fernando, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Ramesh Mendis, Lasith Embuldeniya, Praveen Jayawickrama, Asitha Fernando.

Prediction: Bangladesh dominated a significant part of the first Test match in Chattogram. They are expected to win the second Test match in Mirpur.

CREX XI Suggestion

Wicket-Keeper: Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim and Niroshan Dickwella

Batters: Angelo Mathews, Dimuth Karunaratne, Mahmudul Hasan-Joy and Tamim Iqbal

All-Rounders: Shakib Al Hasan

Bowlers: Praveen Jayawickrama, Lasith Embuldeniya and Taijul Islam 

Captain: Taijul Islam

Vice-captain: Mushfiqur Rahim

Share News On

Read Next

More News