ICC inducts Kumar Sangakkara, Andy Flower, Vinoo Mankad, others of different eras in Hall of Fame

Mayank Kumar

Mayank Kumar

Author| Jun 13, 1:51 PM

Image: Twitter
Image: Twitter

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has inducted 10 former greats of the game into the Hall of Fame. These 10 former players represent the five eras of the game marked by the ICC.

Earlier this month, the ICC had announced that it will facilitate two greats of the game from each of the five different eras of the game.

Early Cricket Era

The ICC has marked the first era as the Early Cricket Era and inducted players who contributed to the game prior to 1918. Under this category, the global governing body has felicitated Aubrey Faulkner of South Africa and Monty Noble of Australia.

Faulkner had featured in 25 Tests and amassed 1,754 runs at an average of 40.79, along with 82 wickets at 26.58 apiece while Noble played 42 Tests and scored 1,997 runs at an average of 30.25 and also picked up 121 wickets at an average of 25.00.

Inter-War Era

Under this category, the ICC paid tribute to players who played important roles in the overall development of the game in the period between 1918-1945.

The ICC felicitated West Indies’ Sir Learie Constantine and Australia’s Stan McCabe.

Sir Learie Constantine had played 18 Tests and took 58 wickets at 30.10 runs per wicket and scored 635 runs at 19.24 runs per innings while McCabe played 39 Tests and scored 2,748 runs at an average of 48.21 while also scalping 36 wickets at 42.86 runs per wicket.

Post War Era

The ICC considered players for the Hall of Fame recognition who made helped the game development with their greatest contributions between 1946 to 1970.

Under this category, the ICC has inducted Ted Dexter of England and Vinoo Mankad of India into the Hall of Fame. 

Dexter played 62 Tests and scored 4,502 runs at an average of 47.89 and also took 66 wickets at 34.93 while Mankad played 44 Tests and scored 2,109 runs at 31.47 along with 162 wickets at 32.32.

ODI Era 

The ICC marked players from the period between 1971 and 1995 under this category. 

Desmond Haynes of West Indies and Bob Willis of England earned the prestigious reckoning as Hall of Fame inductees of the ODI era.

Desmond Haynes played 116 Tests and smashed 7,487 runs at 42.29 and made the iconic opening batting pair with Gordon Greenidge while Willis was a masterful swing bowler for England and picked up 325 wickets at 25.20 from his 90-Test long career.

Modern Cricket Era

The ICC picked players who were the legends of the game and changed the outcome of many matches on the back of their memorable performances in the period between 1996 and 2015. Along with that, they were also considered as great ambassadors of the game between 1996-2015.

Kumar Sangakkara of Sri Lanka and Andy Flower of Zimbabwe earned places in the ICC Hall of Fame among players of this period.

Sangakkara played 134 Tests and piled on 12,400 runs at a phenomenal average of 57.40 runs with the bat along with 182 catches and 20 stumpings with the wicketkeeping gloves.  

On the other hand, Andy Flower played 63 Tests and scored 4,794 runs at an average of 51.54 along with 151 catches and nine stumpings from behind the wicket.

Share News On

Read Next

More News