Cricket confirms its complete lineups for Commonwealth Games 2022

Shubro Mukherjee

Shubro Mukherjee

Author| Feb 1, 1:17 PM


Cricket has become the first sport to announce its complete line-up for the 2022 edition of the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

Sri Lanka Women's team, which won their CWG Qualifier held in Kuala Lumpur last week, has joined the likes of Australia, India, Pakistan, South Africa, New Zealand, England and Barbados as the 8th side which will be vying for glory in the upcoming event.

The final list was confirmed by the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF) in a joint-statement on Monday (February 01). 

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said: “It’s good to have finalised the identity of the teams participating in the Commonwealth Games. We will have eight of the best teams competing for the gold and I am sure we will get to watch a highly competitive tournament,”

“The Commonwealth Games are an important part of the women’s cricket calendar over the next year. It is a huge opportunity for us to take cricket beyond the traditional strongholds and give more people around the world the chance to enjoy the game.” he added.

This will be the first time since 1998 that Cricket will make its presence in the Commonwealth Games.

The forthcoming edition will see 4500 athletes from 72 countries battle it out for glory in Birmingham from July 28- August 09.

Meanwhile, the President of CFG Dame Louise Martin said: “Cricket is a sport synonymous with the Commonwealth. We are so excited to have it back in the Games for the first time since the men’s 50 over competition at Kuala Lumpur in 1998. The debut of women’s T20 cricket will be a historic moment and a wonderful showcase of women’s sport across the world."

As far as the format of the T20 tournament is concerned, eight teams have been divided in two groups.

While T20 world champions Australia, runners-up India, Pakistan and Barbados are a part of Group A, the other group comprises hosts England, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka.

Australia and India will kickstart the proceedings on July 29. The bronze and gold medal matches will be held on August 07. Last time cricket participated in CWG games (Kuala Lumpur 1998), South Africa emerged victorious in the gold medal game against Steve Waugh's Australia.

Share News On

Read Next

More News