IPL 2022 | MI vs SRH | Match 65 Preview, Prediction, Probable XI, CREX XI

Shivani Shukla

Shivani Shukla

Author| May 16, 4:32 PM

PC: iplt20/bcci
PC: iplt20/bcci

With their playoffs berth at stake, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) would look for nothing less than a win to grab the two very crucial points when they take on the already eliminated Mumbai Indians (MI) in the 65th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Tuesday. 

The five-time champions have had a season to forget as they became the first team to get eliminated from the playoffs race. With just three wins from 12 games, they languish at the bottom of the points table. However, they are coming into this contest on the back of a confidence-boosting win over the defending champions. 

Rohit Sharma & Co outplayed the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) by five wickets in the last game after bundling up the defending champions for just 97 runs. After a few early hiccups, their batters chased the score in 14.5 overs. With just two games to go, Mumbai Indians will be craving some consolatory wins to end the season on a high after a disastrous outing so far in the tournament. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad, on the other hand, with five wins from 12 matches, are still in contention to make it to the top four. However, they have lost their last five games and would be looking to put their losing streak to an end and make a comeback at a crucial junction. This would be their last chance, and a loss in this game would end their thin as thread hopes for the playoffs. 

Match Details

Match: Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Match 65

Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Date & Time: 17th May at 7:30 PM IST & Local Time

Live Streaming: Star Sports Network and Disney+Hotstar 

Pitch Report: The Wankhede Stadium has seen some high-scoring matches this year, and we can expect another high-scoring affair on Tuesday. The short boundaries will make the job easy for the batters. Spinners might get a tiny amount of help from the surface in the middle overs, while pacers will have a significant say in the early hours. Both the captains will look to bowl first after winning the toss. 

Pitch Stats [Last 5 Matches] 

Matches Played: 5

Matches Won Batting First: 1

Matches Won Bowling First: 4

Average 1st Inning Score: 153

Average 2nd Inning Score: 143


Matches Played: 18

MI Won: 10

SRH Won: 08 

Key Matchups  

Rohit vs Washington Sundar: 17/2 at 89 SR

Pooran vs Bumrah: 7/2 at 78 SR

Pooran vs Sams: 6/1 at 86 SR

Williamson vs Sams: 13/1 at 108 SR 

Key Performers

  • Tilak Varma has been the show-stopper for Mumbai Indians (MI), scoring 368 runs in 12 matches averaging 41 and at a strike rate of 132.85. 

  • Daniel Sams has bagged 11 wickets in nine outings so far, with 4/30 being his best bowling figures. 

  • Rahul Tripathi has amassed 317 runs this season at an average of 35.22 and a staggering strike rate of 159.30 

  • Aiden Markram has handled the middle overs well with the bat, slamming 358 runs in 12 matches at an average of 59.67 and strike rate of 141.50.



Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan (WK), Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Kieron Pollard, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Kumar Kartikeya, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith, Jaydev Unadkat, Fabian Allen, Basil Thampi, Anmolpreet Singh, Sanjay Yadav, Mayank Markande, Aryan Juyal, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Rahul Buddhi, Tristan Stubbs, Dewald Brevis, Akash Madhwal.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Kane Williamson (C), Nicholas Pooran (WK), Abhishek Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Jagadeesha Suchith, Shashank Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Marco Jansen, Abdul Samad, Sushant Mishra, Romario Shepherd, Priyam Garg, Vishnu Vinod, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, T Natarajan, Shreyas Gopal, Ravikumar Samarth, Sean Abbott.


Probable Playing XI 


Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (C), Ishan Kishan (WK), Tilak Varma, Tristan Stubbs, Ramandeep Singh, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Kumar Kartikeya, Hrithik Shokeen, Jasprit Bumrah, Riley Meredith.


Sunrisers Hyderabad: Abhishek Sharma, Kane Williamson (C), Rahul Tripathi, Aiden Markram, Nicholas Pooran (WK), Shashank Singh, Washington Sundar, Marco Jansen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, Umran Malik.


CREX XI Suggestion


Wicket-Keeper: Nicholas Pooran, Ishan Kishan

Batters: Rohit Sharma, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, Tim David, Tilak Varma

All-Rounders: Aiden Markram

Bowlers: T Natarajan, Umran Malik, Jasprit Bumrah


Captain: Tilak Varma

Vice-Captain: Aiden Markram

Share News On

Read Next

More News